Featured News

New Board Members Announced

Posted: May 5, 2020
Category: Featured News

GCOOS is pleased to announce the winners of our recent Board of Directors election. The Board sets organization policy and direction for the executive director, establishes the organizational structure and approves budgets and organizational partnerships. The new Board members will take their seat at our fall members’ meeting, tentatively scheduled for October.

Academic Sector:
Antonietta Quigg, Texas A&M University at Galveston (new to the Board)

Government Sector
Steve Buschang, Texas General Land Office (returning member)
Kim Yates, United States Geological Survey (USGS) (new to the Board)
Kirsten Larsen, NOAA/NCEI-MS (returning member)

Private Sector
Dave Driver, Fugro (returning member)

Outreach & Education Sector
Sara Graves, University of Alabama Huntsville (returning member)
Joe Swaykos, National Data Buoy Center (ret.) (returning member)

We also want to offer a special thank you to Louisiana State University’s Dr. Nancy Rabalais — one of our founding members! — and NOAA’s Dr. Ed Kearns. We are indebted to them for their years of GCOOS service!

Share this on social media