Executive Committee & Working Groups

GCAN Executive Committee and Working Groups

GCAN Steering Committee

Dr. Sajjad Akam, Iowa State University

Dr. Leticia Barbero, NOAA/AOML

Dr. Jorge Brenner, GCOOS

Dr. Traci Erin Cox, University of New Orleans

Dr. Padmanava Dash, MSU

Dr. Dwight Gledhill, NOAA OAP

Dr. Emily Hall, MML

Dr. Christopher Hayes, USM

Dr. Stephan Howden, USM

Dr. Xinping Hu, TAMU-CC/HRI

Dr. Emily Osborne, NOAA/AOML

Tim Rumage, RCAD

Kelly Sameck, NOAA Sea Grant

Dr. Katie Shamberger, TAMU

Dr. Kim Yates, USGS

GCAN Executive Committee

Dr. Jorge Brenner, Executive Director, Gulf of Mexico Coastal Ocean Observing System (GCOOS)

Dr. Dwight Gledhill, Deputy Director, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Ocean Acidification Program (OAP)

Dr. Kimberly Yates, Senior Research Oceanographer, United States Geological Survey (USGS)

Jennifer Vreeland-Dawson,  Research Associate, GCOOS

GCAN Coordinator

Jennifer Vreeland-Dawson

Working Groups

Working group engagement is interchangeable and dependent on projects. Working group members do not need to be members of GCAN to participate in a project. Please contact the GCAN Coordinator Jennifer Vreeland with questions regarding participation.

Science Working Group

Dr. Xinping Hu, Texas A&M University (TAMU-CC) Corpus-Christi/ Harte Research Institute

Dr. Luticia Barbero, NOAA/University of Miami

Dr. Emily Osborne, NOAA Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory (AMOL)

Dr. Kathryn Shamberger, TAMU

Dr. Emily Hall, Mote Marine Laboratory (MML)

Dr. Stephan Howden, University of Southern Mississippi (USM)

Dr. Nancy Rabalais, Louisiana State University (LSU) College of the Coast and Environment

Dr. Sajjad Akam, Iowa State University

Dr. Beth Stauffer, University of Louisiana (UL) at Lafayette

Dr. Sven Kranz, Rice University

Ed Sherwood, Tampa Bay Estuary Program (TBEP)

Dr. Frank E. Muller-Karger, University of South Florida (USF) / Marine Biodiversity Observation Network (MBON)

Policy Working Group

Kelly Samek, J.D., NOAA SeaGrant

Dr. Sophie J. McCoy, Florida State University (FSU)

Ryan Ono, Ocean Conservancy (OC)

Stakeholder Working Group

Dr. Angela Collins, NOAA/Florida SeaGrant/UF

Dr. Stephan Howden, USM

Dr. Frank Muller-Karger, USF/MBON

Tim Rummage, Ringling College of Art and Design

Kelly Samek, NOAA SeaGrant

Ed Sherwood, TBEP

Ryan Ono, OC